(By Invitation Only)

Sentryworld Golf Club, Stevens Point, WI
September 26-29, 2019
601 N. Michigan Avenue
Stevens Point, WI 54481
715-345-1600 or 866-479-6753


The Midwest Cup is an eight-state team golf tournament (consisting of 10-players on each team) with the individual stroke-play champion recognized. States involved: Wisconsin, Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, Nebraska, Minnesota, South Dakota & Missouri. The event represents the best Mid-Amateur golfers in the Midwest with invitations based on the player-of-the-year points list provided by each state golf association. The tournament focuses on excellence by striving for the best quality in the five C’s – Course, Competition, Camaraderie, Charity and Class. The event strives to represent the best in Midwest family values. The events’ focus on excellence is based on small-town, Midwestern values, genuine friendliness and an unwavering commitment to quality and class.

The Midwest Cup was originated by tournament director Eric Hjortness’ desire to give golfers a chance to play and represent their respective states in a first class team format (Ryder Cup Style) on the finest golf courses in the Midwest. Recognizing most state team competitions were being dominated by college golfers, this event was directed at giving mid and senior amateurs the opportunity to represent their state. The tournament is meant to parallel the Tournament of Champions on the PGA tour, and is based on the executive committees’ experiences playing in the USGA Amateur, Sunnehanna Amateur, and other great events. The event hopes to achieve the highest level of excellence in five categories known as the five C’s: Course selection, Competition, Camaraderie, Charity, and Class. Ultimately, the goal of the event is to become the premier amateur event in the Midwest.

The following two newspaper articles provide some additional background on the thoughts and motivations for creating the Midwest Cup. Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel Article | Wisconsin State Journal Article

Another key facet of the event was to try to give back to the golf community that had helped give many of the competitors a start in golf. The event has already contributed over $25K to notable charities like the Evans Scholars Foundation and various golf associations and programs.

The tournament is hosted by The Badgerland Cup, a 501(c)3 corporation that originally oversaw the Wisconsin Badgerland Cup tournament. A second event, the Illinois-Wisconsin Cup, was started in 2006. Illinois won the inaugural event. In 2010, the name was changed to the Midwest Cup with the addition of teams from Iowa, Nebraska, and Minnesota. Having more than two teams necessitated the move to a new team competition format. The event was expanded to include a medal play championship that combined with the team competition.


Illinois – Mark Gardiner – Captain
Iowa – Levi Slings – Captain
Kansas – Conrad Roberts – Captain
Minnesota – Andy Jacobson – Captain
Missouri – Antonio Serrano – Co-Captain Tyler Stalker, Co-Captain
Nebraska – Dave Shillinglaw – Captain
South Dakota – Chris Long – Captain
Wisconsin – Kevin VanRossum – Captain


Thursday, September 26
   12:30 – 2:20 PM Practice Round off 1 and 10 tee
   (team tee time assignments will be emailed)
  Immediately following play – Welcome Reception and Team Announcements
Friday, September 27
   8 – 9:50 AM 1 and 10 tee, first 18 hole Stroke Play Competition
   Immediately following play – Gathering on the Patio
Saturday, September 28
  8 – 9:50 AM 1 and 10 tee, second 18 hole Stroke Play Competition
Sunday, September 29
   8:00 – 9:50 1 and 10 tee, Championship Rounds
  Awards Presentation after completion of play

Attire for all activities: Golf Course Attire


$350 Per Player
Includes 4 rounds of golf, range fees, cart fees, welcome reception, gathering on patio and player gift.