USGA Women’s State Team Championship

/USGA Women’s State Team Championship
USGA Women’s State Team Championship2017-01-16T13:35:39-05:00

USGA Women’s State Team

September 26-28, 2017
The Club at Las Campanas, Sante Fe, New Mexico

The USGA Women’s State Team Championship began in 1995 where all states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico were invited to enter teams of three players. The only golfers ineligible to participate are those currently on a college team, per NCAA rules. As a result, the field for the Women’s State Team Championship has been made up almost entirely of high school, mid amateur and senior players. The competition is held every two years (odd) and state associations are given the option to choose their teams by any method.

The USGA Women’s State Team Championship format is stroke play and the team score consists of the best two scores of each state’s three players on each of the three days.


The team selection is by the MGA Executive Director with input from other MGA Board of Directors.  The criteria for the selection of the team is going to come by the results of the competitions the past two years in both USGA Championships and MGA Championships.  Play in the current year the USGA State Team Championship is scheduled will weigh a little more than the previous year.  The goal is to send the players who are playing the best leading up to the event to represent Team Missouri!

Missouri has fielded a team in nine of the 11 USGA Women’s State Team Championships, to date. Its best finish was in 2007 when it tied with Massachusetts for 11th place. All-time Missouri results are as follows:

1995 – T34 with Rhode Island, 500 (Marcella Rose, Rosie Schultz and Peggy Williams)

1997 – Did not field a team

1999 – 30th, 319 (Barbara Berkmeyer, Marcella Rose and Nancy Walther)

2001 – 34th, 512 (Barbara Berkmeyer, Marcella Rose and Nancy Walther)

2003 – 31st, 484 (Mary Ann Beattie, Barbara Berkmeyer and Lisa Tinkler)

2005 – 33rd, 477 (Mary Ann Beattie, Barbara Berkmeyer and Kathy Glennon)

2007 – T11th with Massachusetts, 465 (Barbara Berkmeyer, Mindy Bullard and Ellen Port)

2009 – 40th, 507 (Mary Ann Beattie, Kathy Glennon and Ginny Orthwein)

2011 – T47th with Vermont, 541 (Barbara Blankenship, Janis Clemens and Stephany Powell)

2013 – 26th, 481 (Catherine Dolan, Alisha Matthews and Stephany Powell)

2015 – 15th, 456 (Ellen Port, Catherine Dolan and Kayla Eckelkamp